Headphones

Sony WH-1000XM3 Noise-Cancelling Headphones Review

2019-05-15 15:11 #0 by: Evelina

I recently bought the Marshall's Motion Wireless Headphones back in January. But, oh boy, after setting a pair of these Sony's on my head, I wish I never bought those Marshall's! 

To be fair, the Marshall's aren't bad headphones. To put them in perspective with these Sony's it's like riding a 1960's vintage bike that hasn't been maintenanced in a while compared to riding a brand new Specialised road bike. The vintage looks cool, but it's heavy, clunky, and not as smooth as the brand new carbon bike. 

I could have done worse though for the price point of 90 euro, the Marshall's were okay, but they didn't have a noise-cancelling feature, which is something I realised I really need for studying as I tend to get annoyed/distracted easily. And the Marshall's gave me a little bit of discomfort if I were to wear them for long study sessions or on a long flight. 

I ended up giving the Marshall's to my dad last week and I bought the Sony WH-1000XM3 Noise-Cancelling Headphones. 

They are super duper light. Sometimes I even forget that I am wearing them because they are so comfortable. There is plenty of room for my ears under the headphones. 

The drawback to this is that they are actually too big for my head. When I wear them to the gym and I am lying on my back or put my head down too much they would fall off. 

Another drawback, is that when I'm at the gym and I am doing anything with my arms above my head my arms will touch the side of the headphones either changing the music or worse changing the volume. But I realise they were not really designed to be taken to the gym. 

The noise-cancelling and ambient sound features can be controlled through a free app on my phone. I personally think the headphones sound best when it is on the noise cancelling level rather than any ambient sounds. I do not like the adaptive ambient sound feature - I have that toggled off. 

From what I can understand, the ambient sound levels are for when you want the background noise to come through. But I personally don't ever want background noise to come through. So I keep it strictly on noise cancelling. 

I can't really provide any detailed information on the sound other than it sounds really clear even when I have it on a high sound. When I turned the sound onto the mid level range on the Marshall's it got a much harsher sound, which hurt my ears. But the sound on the Sony's even when it is loud is great. There are also much more controls on the app to personalise it. 

These headphones also get 30+ hours of battery and they take 20 or so minutes to fully charge! And it comes with a hard case! 

The headphones are very comfortable to wear around my neck  when I am not listening to music as well since the ear parts pivot and turn. 

The price of these is very expensive at about 360 euros! However, if you wear headphones everyday especially for commuting and studying or working then it is  worth it! I think I wear headphones 70% of the day during my weekdays so I found it to be justifiable. 

Btw, I bought these in black. I really liked the cream/gold ones too, but I figured I would get them dirty easily wearing them to the gym. 

Report
2019-05-15 22:47 #1 by: jordan

Would you say these would be an ideal type of headphone for flights? I have Airpods currently but I don't think I can use them due to them needing Bluetooth. I recently bought some wireless gaming headphones for when I'm at my PC, and can't vouch for wireless enough more generally. The freedom you have is... liberatingLaughing out loud  

Report
2019-05-16 06:47 #2 by: Evelina

The awesome thing is that you get a long cord in those cases that you forgot to charge your headphones or you don’t have wi-fi, just plug it in and you still get to use great quality headphones. Although you won’t be able to access the app for changing the noise cancelling/ ambient sound. It would be to whatever you last had it set on.

I think these will be awesome for flights! I can’t wait to try them for my next flight and really test the noise cancelling feature. From what I have noticed, it is great at cancelling out a lot of background noise, especially higher pitched noise. But less great at cancelling out for example one single talking voice in a quiet room, or plates clanking in a quiet kitchen. However when I am on a bus full of ppl talking and I have my headphones in with music playing or an audiobook on it’s amazing.

I actually find took the plunge to buy these because I was recently on a train ride commuting to another city and I had planned on listening to an audiobook that I needed to listen to for uni. And I couldn’t because there was so much background noise, specifically two women talking on their phones, and I even if I significantly turned up my Marshall’s I couldn’t pay attention and comfortably listen to the audiobook. Then I was like alright Im buying noise cancelling headphones 😂

Report
2019-05-16 09:58 #3 by: Niklas

I see that the Sony WH-1000XM3 get very high marks by reviewers. CNET called them “the best noise-cancelling headphone you can buy” in October 2018.

#0: Both the noise-cancelling and the over ears instead of on ears makes a big difference in sound quality. I don’t think I would buy a pair of over ears headphones. I suspect they would let too much noise in for them to be effective.

A setting that lets you hear talk but not general noise is the only thing I sometimes miss in my Bose QC35 headphones. Best would be a button that you press when you want to hear talk.

Report
2019-05-16 10:00 #4 by: Niklas

Oh, I saw in the video that they have a button just like the one I asked for. 🙂

Report
2019-05-16 10:06 #5 by: Evelina

Yes they do have that! #4

I got these because of the good reviews. I figured if I’m going to buy noise cancelling headphones might as well get good ones even if they are costly! I read that the Bose QC35 are just as good. Some ppl say the Bose is better whereas some say the Sony is better. I chose the Sony’s because I liked the look of them a bit more.

Report
2019-05-16 11:57 #6 by: Niklas

I agree about the price being less significant as long as you get the best headphones. In a way, a pair of noise-canceling headphones is like buying a private office and cozy-corner combined.

Report
2019-05-16 12:02 #7 by: Evelina

#6 I completely agree!

Report
2019-05-16 22:33 #8 by: Leia

Do you think the size is a significant issue? does it feel loose when walking in general?

I think having the option for the noise cancelling feature is amazing! Went out walking in the street I would want to hear my surroundings so I can acknowledge traffic and people. 

All the best, Leia

Host of  Gluten-Free Living | News  | English Language Heart

Report
2019-05-17 08:17 #9 by: Evelina

#8 No its only a problem when Im at the gym and doing alot of different activities. I can even run/sprint in them on the treadmill and its totally fine. I would take them being like this, with 0 discomfort even after hours, over headphones feeling tight on my head and needing to take them off and give my self a break because are uncormfortable.

Report

There is anohter comment in this discussion. It is, however, only visible for logged in members. To read the comment, log in or register to become a member.